2019 Perry Prize Winner

Adelaide Perry Prize for Drawing 2019 – People’s Choice Award announced

In March Adelaide Perry Gallery exhibited the works of 43 finalists in the fourteenth Perry Prize and invited visitors to cast their vote for the People’s Choice award, valued at $2,000.

Ballarat artist Kim Anderson’s striking charcoal, pastel, and ink on paper work Mourning Dance I, pictured, has been voted their favourite. Of her drawing practice, Anderson states: "I explore the physical manifestations of a psyche in turmoil and the ever-shifting relationship between our inner and outer worlds… ‘Mourning Dance I’ shows a moment of intense grief, but also in some ways a kind of release. I channel my feelings of grief and loss into my art-making as a way of coming to terms with them, and accepting that loss is an inevitable part of life."

Congratulations Kim!


The judge for the 2019 Adelaide Perry Prize for Drawing, acclaimed Melbourne artist, John Wolseley, selected 43 works from over 470 entries across Australia. He awarded the $25 000 Acquisitive Prize to Sydney artist, Sally Simpson, for her drawing Full Fathom 5 #9

Of the winning entry John Wolseley stated that the drawing ‘has a quality of that something ‘other’ which lifts it to some other realm.  A quality which actually can only be described through drawing and not in words. I’m sure all judges are different, but I’d like to say that my particular search is to find a work which somehow says something which may not have ever been said before, or not in this particular form.’  

Now in its 14th year, the Perry Prize is one of the most well-regarded and valuable of its kind in Australia. PLC Sydney and the Adelaide Perry Gallery gratefully acknowledges all of the entrants for their participation, and John Wolseley for his time and expertise.

The exhibition was opened Friday 1 March at 7.00 pm by Dr Maryanne Coutts, Head of Drawing at National Art School and continues 8.30 am – 4.00 pm weekdays and 11.00 am – 4.00 pm Saturdays until 29 March. 

download-icon Click here to download the 2019 Perry Prize Catalogue

Congratulations to this year’s finalists:

  • Kim Anderson
  • Oliver Ashworth-Martin
  • Karen Barbouttis
  • Michael Bell
  • Tony Belobrajdic
  • Kate Belvedere
  • Stephen Bird
  • Honor Bradbeer
  • Robyn Burgess
  • Tom Carment
  • Hua Cun Chen
  • Tony Costa
  • Thea Costantino
  • Amy Dynan
  • Laurie Franklin
  • Todd Fuller
  • Keith Fyfe
  • Jody Graham
  • Jane Grealy
  • Sue Grose-Hodge
  • Allis Louise Hamilton
  • Pei Pei He
  • Jennifer Keeler-Milne
  • Suellen Kennewell
  • Jennifer King
  • Fred Magro
  • Penny Mason
  • Terry Matassoni
  • Tamara Michael
  • Damian Moss
  • Angus Nivison
  • Catherine O'Donnell
  • Toshiko Oiyama
  • Steve Pettenon
  • Lyn Raymer
  • Andrew Seward
  • Patrick Shirvington
  • Sally Simpson
  • Andrew Southall
  • Biron Valier
  • John R Walker
  • John Webb
  • Puna Yanima

At the close of the exhibition, a people’s choice award of $2,000 will be awarded to the finalist’s work voted favourite by Gallery visitors. Voting slips are available at the Gallery.


For further inquires about the Perry Prizeplease contact:

Adelaide Perry Gallery
Corner Hennessy and College Streets
Croydon NSW
T: (02) 9704 5693
E AdelaidePerryGallery@plc.nsw.edu.au 



Kim Anderson’s Mourning Dance I, Perry Prize 2019 People’s Choice winner

Sally Simpson, Full Fathom 5 #9, charcoal and Conté on Arches paper. 2019 Perry Prize winner.

event-perry-prize-2019-th Opening Night of the Perry Prize Exhibition of Finalists 2019. Principal Dr Paul Burgis, artist Sally Simpson and PLC Sydney Art & Design Captain, Claire Shi, in front of the winning artwork.