2023 Perry Prize for Drawing Finalists Announced

Congratulations goes to our 40 shortlisted finalists.

The Adelaide Perry Prize for Drawing is a $25,000 acquisitive art award among the most significant of its kind in the country.

Named in honour of respected painter, printmaker and draughtswoman, Miss Adelaide Elizabeth Perry (1891-1973) who taught Visual Arts at PLC Sydney from 1930 to 1962, the Prize attracts submissions from around the country, and this year was no different.

From over 400 entries, acclaimed artist, curator and writer, Imants Tillers, has selected this year’s Perry Prize shortlist. Just prior to the opening of the Exhibition of Finalists, Mr Tillers will return to the Gallery to select the overall winner.

Each year the exhibition of Finalists contributes tremendously as an inspirational learning opportunity for PLC Sydney students and provides the community with an engaging exhibition of varied subject matter and wide ranging technical approaches.

Congratulations goes to the following 40 finalists of the 2023 Adelaide Perry Prize for Drawing:

Vanessa Allegra, Maree Azzopardi, Rsj Barker, Peter Berner, Rachel Bolton, M Bozzec, Wilhelmus Breikers, Peter Burgess, Jane Cameron, Tom Carment, Joshua Charadia, Tracey Clement, Maryanne Coutts, Johnnie Dady, John Derrick, Damian Dillon, David Eastwood, Jo Ernst, Yanni Floros, Jane Gerrish, Erika Gofton, Jane Grealy, Sue Grose-Hodge, Ross Halfacree, Samantha Haničar, Carly Hansen, Kendal Heyes, Bridget Hillebrand, Alun Rhys Jones, Martin King, Hyun Hee Lee, Tristan Liao, Roman Longginou, Tia Madden, Derek McClure, Noel McKenna, David Palliser, Ruth Rawle, Jacqueline Rose and Chanel Sohier.

The Exhibition of Finalists opening event and the announcement of this year’s winner will be held at:

Adelaide Perry Gallery from 7.00 pm on Friday 24 February
The exhibition continues from 8.30 am – 4.00 pm weekday
11.00 am – 4.00 pm Saturdays until 24 March

2023 Perry Prize Finalist, Tia Madden's work, 'Lineweight' (detail)