2021 Artist-in-Residence

The annual Artist-in-Residence program connects Visual Arts at PLC Sydney with industry practitioners.

To date, the College has welcomed artists such as Kiata Mason (in 2019), Nicole Kelly, Mirra Whale, Tim Allen, Terri Butterworth, My Le Thi, Alex Fensham, Neil Evans, Jan Williamson, Philip Hannaford, Steve Tyerman, Patrick Shirvington, Rachel Fairfax, Peter Gardiner and Becky Gibson on Year 11 Visual Arts Camp at Bundanon; each inspirational in sharing their art practice and approaches to depicting the Australian landscape.

The College also hosts guest artists and designers through exhibitions in the Adelaide Perry Gallery and/or floor talks or workshops for students of Visual Arts and Technological and Applied Studies. Artists and designers involved have included Mona Ryder, Sallie Moffatt, Angus Neveson, Phillippa Carnemolla, Lisa Jones, Lucy and Barry McCann and Julie Rrap.

2021 ARTIST IN RESIDENCE peta minnici

In 2021 the College welcomes Sydney painter Peta Minnici. In March, Peta accompanied Year 11 Visual Arts students at a National Art School 2-day worksop before travelling to Arthur Boyd’s Homestead at Bundanon on the Shoalhaven, where the group worked en plein air in the Australian landscape. In Term 2 Peta joins PLC Sydney Visual Arts, working in The Croydon studios.

Minnici paints primarily in oil and her subjects range from portraiture and still life to familiar landscapes and interior settings. Source imagery is deconstructed by her painterly emphasis on the materiality of the media.

Minnici’s drawing technique employs a labour-intensive process of vertical or horizontal hatching. As in her paintings, the resulting imagery shifts between representation and abstraction, evoking the nature of time and memory.

Peta attended the Julian Ashton Art School and has completed a Bachelor and Master of Fine Art from the National Art School.

Her works have been exhibited at the Manly Art Gallery and Museum, National Art School, The Brett Whiteley Studio, May Space Gallery and numerous regional galleries across Australia. In 2015 she was awarded the John Olsen Prize for Drawing, The Parkers Fine Art Award for painting and the Parkers Fine Art Award for all disciplines. In 2019 & 2021 Peta was a finalist in the prestigious Dobell Prize for Drawing.

Peta Minnici is represented by Chalk Horse Gallery in Sydney.

Click here to read about some of our Previous Years" Artists-in-Residences

  • 2019 Kiata Mason
  • 2018 Nicole Kelly
  • 2017 Mirra Whale 
  • 2016 Louisa Chircop
  • 2015 Evan Salmon
  • 2014 Becky Gibson
  • 2013 Peter Gardiner
  • 2012 Rachel Fairfax

contact-icon To find out more, please contact us. Click here.



Peta Minnici_2021
Peta Minnici at the National Art School, Sydney.