Presbyterian Ladies’ College Sydney is one of Australia’s oldest and most respected schools for girls.
When PLC Sydney opened its doors for the first time in 1888, the entire school consisted of 39 girls, 21 of which were boarders. It was the first school in NSW to be established by the Presbyterian Church. The College’s first classes began at Fernlea, a ‘gentleman’s residence’ in Ashfield.
In 1891, the College purchased Shubra Hall and moved to the five hectare property in Croydon.
The now iconic hall was once the home of Anthony Hordern III, of the Hordern department store dynasty.
The College’s first Principal, Dr John Marden (1888-1919), held high ideals about the education of girls which continue to shape the College’s philosophy today.
During the Depression and World War II years, growth slowed and the College moved to temporary premises in Strathfield so that the RAAF radar unit could operate from the Croydon site.
Therefore the College was conducted from Strathfield from1942-1945.
Post-war, the College returned to the Croydon site in 1946 and enrolments increased dramatically over the next 20 years. New facilities were built to ensure that a high level of instruction was maintained.
Today the College is home to nearly 1200 girls from just four years old to the young women who graduate in Year 12. PLC Sydney is recognised for nurturing girls to become grounded, 21st century women of integrity and purpose.
The College combines its rich history with educational best practice to extend each girl to grow into confident, caring and accomplished young women.
For more information about the College's history and traditions please visit our Archives Microsite.