Speech Success

connections-issue1116-rostrumA Rising Star

On Sunday 18 June, Lina Cho (Year 10) represented PLC Sydney in the Rostrum Voice of Youth State Finals. She was awarded runner-up in the Junior Division.

Lina delivered a convincing prepared speech calling for the cancellation of the provocation plea in murder/manslaughter cases. Her impromptu speech, although more light-hearted, raised our awareness of the lack of philanthropy in Australia compared to other developed countries. Interestingly, Lina finds prepared speaking more stressful than speaking with little or no notice.

Rostrum Voice of Youth is open to all high school students across Australia. Over 3000 students participate each year, covering over 500 schools. Lina hopes to be a Barrister and judging by her excellent performance in the State Finals, I think we can all agree that she is well on her way. Congratulations Lina.


Image: Lina Cho


Heading for Australian Titles

Congratulations to all students who auditioned for the Australian Individual Debating and Public Speaking Competition (AIDPSC) at the end of Term 2. The team selected was Jade Lin (Year 11), Kelsey Lu (Year 11), Eleanor Lawton- Wade (Year 10) and Lina Cho (Year 10). These students will carry the PLC Sydney flag to Canberra to take part in four events. High scoring performers will then be eligible for selection to the Australian Representative Team to travel to the World Competition in 2017. This year, AIDPSC will be hosted by Canberra Girls Grammar School on 26–28 September 2016, during the first week of the Term 3 holidays.

Additionally, this year we are able to send a development team to Speakfest, which is an opportunity for High School students to enhance their public speaking and debating skills. A further four Year 10 students have been selected to participate in Speakfest: Lauren McGrath-Wild, Annabelle Moore, Jessica Wang and Sophie Ma. This event takes place in tandem with AIDPSC in Canberra.


Senior Speech Students Talk Their Way To The Top



Image (from left): Sophie Ma. Dr Paul Burgis, Eleanor Lawton-Wade, Lina Cho, Lauren McGrath-Wild, Katherine Chen, Annabelle Moore and Sophie Ma

On Thursday 23 June 2016, the Senior Speaking Festival took place in College Hall. Whilst the evening was dark and cold, the verbal artistry demonstrated warmed to the core. We marvelled at our Senior students’ ability to interpret mature and challenging texts and speak on a diverse range of subjects with limited preparation time and notes. Many speakers tackled all three divisions: Poetry, Prose Reading and the ever-challenging Impromptu Speaking task.


Congratulations to the following students:


   Poetry            Impromptu Speaking      Prose Reading
 1st   Sophie Ma     1st    Lina Cho         1st   Sherie Pan 
 2nd  Katherine Chen    2nd   Eleanor Lawton- Wade    2nd  Katherine Chen
 3rd  Annabelle Moore    3rd   Lauren McGrath- Wild    3rd  Eleanor Lawton - Wade
 4th  Kelsey Lu    4th   Kelsey Lu    4th  Stephanie Lee
 5th  Alison Chen    5th   Jade Lin    5th  Lina Cho
 HC  Stephanie Lee and Lina Cho                 HC  Alison Chen, Sherie Pan                 HC  Eliza Otton, Lauren McGrath- Wild

Additional congratulations are extended to Sophia Ma, Lina Cho and Sherie Pan for their nominations to the AHIGS Senior Speaking team, who will travel to Abbotsleigh for the 20th Festival of Speech in October.


Music Success
Australian Choral Grand Prix, 2016 Art Music Awards and the Sutherland Shire Youth Music Awards.
Read more
International Science Competition
Science Students participated in an International Competition and we are pleased to announce some excellent results.
Read more
Sporting Success
Australian School Girls Hockey, Australian Diving Championships, National Gymnastics Squad, State Gymnastics and Regional Snowsports.
Read more
Shakespeare Carnival State Champions
Year 10 Drama students win the State Final of the Shakespeare Carnival.
Read more
Installation of 2017 Senior School Leaders
The Installation of the 2017 Senior School Leaders was held at a special assembly on Friday 22 July.
Read more