Music Success

video-gallery-sidebar-icon Click the image to watch our PLC Sydney Malala video.


2016 Art Music Awards

The 2016 Art Music Awards finalists have been announced and PLC Sydney's Malala is in the running!

Congratulations must go to the girls in the 2015 Chamber Choir who recorded the new work commissioned for PLC Sydney entitled Malala by Paul Jarman (Composer in Residence). This work has been nominated and accepted as a finalist in the Australian Music Centre Art Music Composer Awards under the category Vocal/Choral Work of the year.


The 2016 Art Music Awards will be presented at the Plaza Ballroom in Melbourne on Tuesday 16 August 2016, hosted by Jonathan Biggins, with a live performance program curated by Gabriella Smart.


Congratulations Paul Jarman, our dedicated musicians in the Music department and the PLC Sydney Chamber Choir!

Chamber Choir through to Australian Choral Grand Prix

Congratulations to the PLC Sydney Chamber Choir on making it through all qualifying sections of the Sydney Eisteddfod to perform and compete at the Australian Choral Grand Prix!


On Sunday 19 June 2016, girls in the PLC Sydney Chamber Choir entered the Sydney Eisteddfod in the John Lamble Foundation competition for Youth Choir (U19). Competing against some very fine choirs the group came away with fourth place and $500 in prize money. The Choir is now eligible to compete in the prestigious Australian Choral Grand Prix, one of the most diverse and engaging events held annually by Sydney Eisteddfod, on Sunday 21 August at Sydney Grammar School in the city. Here they will have the opportunity to perform for a large audience and compete for even more prize money. The afternoon will be recorded for radio by Fine Music FM 102.5 and the event will be broadcast at a later date.


Best of luck to Sophia Bechara, Caitlin Bell, Sabena Bhadri, Elisheva Biernoff-Giles, Amilia Bonanno, Megan Casey, Hemans Chan, Keer (Karry) Chen, Stephanie Chew, Lauren Clark, Angela Gao, Tasman Jones, Esther Kang, Maeve Kelaher, Vanessa Lubrano, Sandra Magro, Sophie Ma, Hayley Ng, Amelia Phillis, Claudia Raguz, Lucie Roberts, Mathilde Schoelpple, Belinda Thomas, Beatrice Tucker, Jingtong (Averlie) Wang, Ruby Watters, Louisa Williamson and Isabella Zhu.


Thank you to Ms Clouston and Mr Basile for working with the girls.


Date: Sunday 21 August
Time: 2.30 pm
Location: Sydney Grammar School, New Hall
Tickets:* To purchase tickets visit the Sydney Eisteddfod website 


* Discounted tickets are available for performers in the Chamber Choir. See Ms McCarthy in the Music Staff area at Harmsworth. Tickets for the choir members are $33 each. Please purchase your  tickets as soon as possible as there are only 50 available.


25th Sutherland Shire and St George Youth Music Award

Congratulations to Beatrice Tucker (Year 12) who received the Promising Talent – Large Ensemble Award in the Compositions section of the 2016 Sutherland Shire and St George Youth Music Awards. 

On Friday 1 July 2016, the finals of the Youth Music Awards were held in the Sutherland Memorial School of Arts. Beatrice presented her three minute compostition called Kire Eitas (Erik Satie spelt backwards), styled on the melodies and harmonies of the early 20th century composer.   

This work is part of her HSC music elective which Beatrice describes as ‘a celebration of strange and quirky things’. Congratulations Beatrice!


International Science Competition
Science Students participated in an International Competition and we are pleased to announce some excellent results.
Read more
Speech Success
Rostrum Voice of Youth Sate Finals, AIDPSC and 2016 Senior Speaking Festival.
Read more
Sporting Success
Australian School Girls Hockey, Australian Diving Championships, National Gymnastics Squad, State Gymnastics and Regional Snowsports.
Read more
Shakespeare Carnival State Champions
Year 10 Drama students win the State Final of the Shakespeare Carnival.
Read more
Installation of 2017 Senior School Leaders
The Installation of the 2017 Senior School Leaders was held at a special assembly on Friday 22 July.
Read more