Breathtaking performances by Speech students



On Wednesday 8 June 2016, a captive audience was treated to word artistry when students in Years 7 – 9 delivered breathtaking performances in oral communication. Many speakers tackled all three divisions: Poetry, Prose Reading and the ever-challenging Impromptu Speaking task. PLC Sydney Head of Speech, Ms Therese Bennetts, commented ‘it was a wonderful evening of entertainment that gave myself and the audience so much joy.’ Congratulations are extended to all 30 participants for the exceptionally high standard achieved. After much deliberation, the adjudicators’ results were as follows:


1st Amanda Lu
2nd Ariel Burgess
3rd Noelle Davis
4th Alexia Lorenzato
5th Heloise Arraj
HC Natalie Lambropoulos, Claudia Adams

Impromptu Speaking 

1st Ariel Burgess
2nd Gwendalyn Dabaja  
3rd Chanel Chamoun
4th Heloise Arraj
5th Charlotte Guest
HC  Emma Bosco, Natalie Lambropoulos

Prose Reading

1st Louisa Cusumano
2nd Ariel Burgess
3rd Breteil Tigris David
4th Gwendalyn Dabaja
5th Claire Shi
HC Emma Bosco, Wendy Lin

Additional congratulations are extended to Ariel Burgess, Louisa Cusumano and Amanda Lu for their nominations to the AHIGS Junior Speaking team who will travel to Abbotsleigh for the 20th Festival of Speech in October.

The annual Junior Speaking Festival is a highlight in the Public Speaking calendar at PLC Sydney. The Senior Speaking Festival, scheduled for Thursday 23 June 2016, in College Hall, promises to be just as good.

Left: Breteil David (Year 7)
Middle: Amanda Lu (Year 8)
Right: Sara Ghani (Year 8)


2016 Senior School Captains announced
The 2017 Senior School Captains were announced at a special assembly held Tuesday 7 June 2016.
Read more
North West Equestrian Expo
Two of our Boarders, Holly Finlay and Anna Dowling, represented PLC Sydney at the North West Equestrian Expo.
Read more
NSWCIS football team
Congratulations to Abigail Stevanovic who has been selected in the NSWCIS Football team.
Read more
NSWCIS hockey team
Congratulations to Litiana Field who has been selected in the NSWCIS hockey team.
Read more