PLC Sydney students scoop the pool at Young Scientist Awards

news_science-awardsPLC Sydney has achieved outstanding results at the Science Teachers Association NSW (STANSW) Young Scientist Awards, which were held at the University of Wollongong on Wednesday 4 November.

Our Year 10 students finished First in Senior Physics, Chemistry and Biology: the primary research categories. Emma Tanevska won the Physics award for her research on the use of waste polystyrene as an insulator; Jade Lin won the Chemistry award for her research into the development of bioplastics to assist with limiting pollution; and Madeleine Maloof won the Biology award for her work on dental whitening and enamel loss. Vanessa Li finished third in the Biology awards.

Further, Abbey Kumar in Year 7 won a ‘Most Promising Award’.

STANSW also makes awards in a significant other number of areas: Emma Liu (Year 10) won the National Measurement Institute Measurement Award for accuracy in measurement; and Emma Tanevska won the Australasian College of Physical Scientists and Engineers in Medicine ‘Medical Physics Award’.

Principal Dr Paul Burgis said: “We are so very proud of our students, their commitment to learning and their love of Science. I note also that these awards are a real credit to the Head of Science Faculty, Mrs McGrouther, and her dedicated staff. These results signify the success of our programs in enabling students to succeed in STEM subjects. We look forward to fabulous futures for our students”.

From left: Dr Paul Burgis, Madeleine Maloof, Vanessa Li, Jade Lin, Emma Liu, Abbey Kumar and Mrs Linda Eades.




HSC Visual Arts students recognised
Congratulations to HSC Visual Arts students Alice Chui, Alexandra Kah, Jacqueline Meng, Josie Potter and Amy Yu, whose works have been retained by BOSTES (Board of Studies Teaching and Educational Standards) for possible inclusion in Artexpress.
Read more
Record number of PLC Sydney students to attend NYSF
Congratulations to the seven PLC Sydney students who have been selected for the 2016 National Youth Science Forum (NYSF), to be held at the Australian National University in Canberra early next year.
Read more
HSC Drama students' hard work rewarded
Jessica Lyons, who was nominated for OnStage, the presentation and exhibition of group and individual performances and projects by HSC Drama students, has now been selected for inclusion in the exhibition.
Read more
Students awarded for leadership and teamwork
Congratulations to Alison Chen (Year 10) and Phoebe McHugh (Year 12, 2015) who have both received the 2015 ADF Long Tan Youth Leadership and Teamwork Award.
Read more
Sporting Success
Last week, Evandale students were all extremely excited to be able to display their talents and abilities at the J D Oates Aquatic Institute, where they competed in the 2015 Evandale Swimming Carnivals.
Read more