2019 Artist-in-Residence

The annual Artist-in-Residence program connects Visual Arts at PLC Sydney with industry practitioners.

To date, the College has welcomed artists such as Nicole Kelly, Mirra Whale, Tim Allen, Terri Butterworth, My Le Thi, Alex Fensham, Neil Evans, Jan Williamson, Philip Hannaford, Steve Tyerman, Patrick Shirvington, Rachel Fairfax, Peter Gardiner and Becky Gibson on Year 11 Visual Arts Camp at Bundanon; each inspirational in sharing their art practice and approaches to depicting the Australian landscape.

The College also hosts guest artists and designers through exhibitions in the Adelaide Perry Gallery and/or floor talks or workshops for students of Visual Arts and Technological and Applied Studies. Artists and designers involved have included Mona Ryder, Sallie Moffatt, Angus Neveson, Phillippa Carnemolla, Lisa Jones, Lucy and Barry McCann and Julie Rrap.


Kiata Mason is a Sydney-based artist and National Art School graduate. She holds a Bachelor of Fine Arts (Painting); Bachelor of Fine Arts (Drawing) with Honours; and a Master of Fine Arts (Drawing).

Kiata’s intimate compositions of eclectic collections of beautiful objects in still-life, particularly from within the home, have awarded her a finalist in Prizes such as the Dobell Drawing Prize, Paddington Art Prize, Mosman Art Prize, Blake Prize, Doug Moran Portrait Prize, Muswellbrook Art Prize and most recently the Sir John Sulman Prize 2018.

During Term 2 Kiata continues her residency at PLC Sydney, based in The Croydon Visual Arts studios, alongside Year 11 Visual Arts students working toward their exhibition Riversdale Dreaming at Adelaide Perry Gallery.

The annual Riversdale Dreaming exhibition at Adelaide Perry Gallery showcases the works produced by the artist and Year 11 Visual Arts students during this period and opens at Thursday 30 May at 7.00 pm, continuing weekdays 8.30 am – 4.00 pm until Thursday 20 June.

Click here to read about some of our Previous Years" Artists-in-Residences

  • 2018 Nicole Kelly
  • 2017 Mirra Whale 
  • 2016 Louisa Chircop
  • 2015 Evan Salmon
  • 2014 Becky Gibson
  • 2013 Peter Gardiner
  • 2012 Rachel Fairfax

contact-icon To find out more, please contact us. Click here.